Golf Rules: Accidental Contact and Penalties

Ever wondered about the rules of golf when accidental contact occurs? Let’s dive into the Reddit post that sparked a lively discussion. Did the player incur a penalty or get away with it? Find out below!

Summary

  • Exploring Rule 11.1 of golf regarding accidental contact and self-hits
  • Discussion on playing the ball as it lies in stroke play
  • Insight into the distinction between accidental and intentional actions

Lively Debates

According to Rule 11.1 of golf, accidental hits do not incur penalties

Great Shot or Penalty?

A player’s club hitting the ball in the sand and then again in the air prompts a rule check

The Verdict

Opinions range from ‘count it’ to ‘that’s a penalty’